Verse of the Week

Standard

2 Corinthians 12:6-10 NIV Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say,or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships,in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

*Here are a few tips or suggestions for anyone who wants to not only learn God’s word, but also start applying it to their daily lives. The scriptures that have been underlined is the focal point of this weeks message. P.s. last week I had standardized testing so I didn’t get the chance to post the Verse of the Week. I will now compensate for any of the time wasted in pursuit after the latest post by doubling up on verses today. 

  1. There’s a significant difference between speaking of how you will react in your relationship with God in time of trouble and the response He receives from you when difficulties are present. Often we assume that when we are struggling God will just ride in like a superhero and save the day, leaving us with no responsibility of our own, however, that is not the reality of the situation. If we expect that in times of trouble we will depend solely upon the Lord, then you must begin practicing that routine in times of good because if you aren’t walking out on faith now, what makes you think you will then? That’s not even including the discouragement that can enter your heart if you are ill prepared, but that would all be by your own doing. Similar to how the song, “I Sing Praises to Your Name,” doesn’t list a specific time or season that this practice is confined within. Regardless of the season or whether or not you might be celebrating a certain holiday, you should never limit yourself by believing that you only have a short span of time to do so.
  2. This week I challenge you to take every trial your presented with as an opportunity to walk out on faith and not sight. However, if you ever begin to feel awkward or uncomfortable when thinking of this concept, push yourself even further beyond your comfort zone to the point to where your flesh no longer believes it’s in control. One way I check myself is by comparing all the effort and amount of time I dedicate to other things with my relationship with God. That way I already understand that there should be a significant difference between the two and whenever I find that it isn’t evident it causes me to become convicted, but it’s also an opportunity to do better. I also advise you to not become overly harsh on yourself whenever you slip up and try to understand that is the beauty of God’s abundant grace, because even though you’ve been born again it doesn’t mean that your perfect, and every time you receive correction you have the chance to experience growth on a spiritual level. Also please, remember that, “To one who listens, valid criticism is like a gold earring or other gold jewelry” (Proverbs 25:12 NLT).

*Make sure that if you have any questions, requests or concerns to leave a comment at the bottom of any of  the Verse of the Week posts. Anything that pertains to this will be entitled beneath this category.

Leave a Reply

