Patriotism?

Standard

“What is patriotism? Is it serving your country during wartime, or making war on injustice in your hometown? Is it gathering with friends and setting off fireworks, or is patriotism a feeling that transcends words?

Some say it is unpatriotic to oppose the war, but hear me out: Say if your kid brings home a bad report card. Are you proud of him? Probably not. But do you still love him?

Yes. Loving your family is wanting what’s best for them. Loving your country is not just saluting the flag; loving your country is trying to make your country better. If you don’t want a better future for America, how can you say you love it?”

updated 10:05 a.m. EDT, Fri July 4, 2008 CNN

I believe that Patriotism is a feeling that is difficult to describe. Today, my class watched the News stations on the morning of September 11, 2001. As I watched the broadcast I had pretended as if we were viewing the CNN broadcasting live. The first tower’s broadcast time was slow and as I watched the smoke escape the building, something unexplainable happened to me. In that moment, I had felt the nation shaking and I understood what it meant to be an American. I had forgotten the next event that was taking place and when the buildings finally collapsed, so did pieces of me. While I watched the buildings stand tall, I was an American. Even as the buildings withstood the weight of it all, I was still an American. Yet, once the buildings collapsed, so did the entire nation. It rocked, shook and eventually everyone was leaning together as one. For the second time in history we were attacked on U.S. soil. We knew not if it was the end or only the beginning of what we don’t know.  The children did not understand the story they watched unfold. As I write to you today, I must confess: I was American in the beginning and even when shaken we rise up together nevertheless.

9/11

Leave a Reply

